Tonight I was hitting the bags when John asked if I wanted to spar. Duh. Yes. "That's (muffled word)," he gestured into the ring, "the (muffled words, etc.etc.) Champion." Cool. Yeah, I want to spar him.
I gathered my helmet, contact case, and mouthpiece and all too giddily hit the bags while awaiting my turn. Just before I went in John corrected my body shot stance, gave me about 5 things that I needed to do (cutting off the ring is the only one I remember) and sent me in. He told me that this guy would be great to work with, really relaxed.
So (muffled word) Champion and I begin the round, he's swinging pretty wide (meaning I could see all the punches) and pretty much coming right down the middle each time (I have no idea how this kept happening). It was weird cause he was going pretty slow, letting me see the punches and try to move from them. He certainly didn't make any efforts to really hit me (as I'm certain he has some killer punches in 'em). He even let me back him to the side of the ring and just unleash a flurry of erratic punches to his sides. Twice. Nice guy. :)
I was def pretty winded after. Despite the fact that he hardly had to move, I was like a jumping bean in there. After my workout, when I grabbed my towel to shower, he told me that I was really good. I was like "you're pretty good yourself!" On my way out the door, I thanked him for working with me and god bless him, he told me his name twice and I still didn't catch it! Then he said again that I was really good and that "if he (muffled name said clearly and loudly), (something) Champion, said I was good, then I'm good"
So tomorrow, I'm going to clear up this name and weight business so that I can correct this post and give Mr. Champion the credit he deserves for building up my suffering ego.
Ref 1: This is for you, Em, "cutting off the ring" is when two fighters are facing one another in the ring. Let's pretend guy A keeps moving around in a circle around guy B. What guy B has to do is "cut off the ring", essentially step in the line of movement so that guy A can't complete the circle. (You do this by moving sideways not back or forwards.) Then guy B is positioned to punch. Make sense?
No comments:
Post a Comment