Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Boxer's Lament

This sums up what I've been feeling since I stopped boxing: 

I miss boxing. I miss the people at my old gym. I miss coming to the office in the morning feeling like I've accomplished something already. I miss spending a round working on the form of one punch (and it only taking like weeks to put in into action). I miss the sound of my glove hitting a mitt when I land the punch correctly. I miss how I mad I feel when I get hit unexpectedly. I miss hearing my trainers voice giving me instruction as I'm moving around the ring. I miss spending hours with the girls analyzing every move. I miss taking huge gulps of air at the end of a round sparring. I miss saying no to water because I'm so tough I don't need it. I miss it all getting easier after a while. I miss being inspired by fight mixes on my ipod. I miss daydreaming about sparring. I miss people being wowed by the fact that I box (shameful - but mostly because I feel like I'm defying stereotypes). I miss going into the locker room looking like shit and emerging in a dress, wearing make-up and suddenly the boys at the gym realize I'm actually a girl. I miss gagging on my mouthpiece. I miss how I start each round with a sense of purpose. I miss how toned my body was and how I could wear whatever I wanted! I miss how much energy I had. I miss being called a "tough cookie." 

I wonder how I'll feel 1-2 months from now... 


No comments: