Moving on... I sparred something like 3.5 rounds (because during my first round I was outfitted in non-sparring gloves and had to stop halfway through to change gloves: I honestly don't know the difference). By the last round, started to get into the groove. Jonathan gave me great advice: to move in at an angle from the sides. I tried it in the last round and I definitely felt an improvement and I imagine the difference was pretty visible considering I'm using going directly towards my opponent, in the center, making it easier to hit me with jabs (especially since I don't slip the punch). Kino told me I was throwing better combinations but I've got to work on my defense. John told me I need to not be wild with my punches when my opponent is unorthodox or all over the place. I'm wondering if I should do a round on Saturday where I ONLY slip and move from punches? I felt a little lighter on my feet last night. I was moving around a lot. Maybe it's because I'm lighter in general - that's right, lost about 3 pounds so far... and before I stopped drinking, so the next month I should be able to lose it all (August 1 I begin my two month sobriety pledge).
After I sparred, worked on the bags, did mitts, Lauren did an audio interview. It'll be interesting to see what she edits down to. She got 11 minutes of footage of me and complimented my audio voice. My guess is that I sound very Southern.
We'll see how I feel tonight, either today or Friday I need to get a long run in. Maybe I can squeeze one more day of boxing training on the bags and mitts before my neck and shoulders are too out of wack. Then I can have my run on Friday night to give myself a break before sparring Sat. Sounds like a plan...
No comments:
Post a Comment