Thursday, July 10, 2008

Shoeless

So... went to the gym again today. I know... I'm obsessive. But I had one of those days where you get so riled up that by the end of it you're aren't mad but just frustrated and overwelmed. Just needed a stress release - preferably one that would help undo all the brownie eating I did today. 

I had an extra set of gym clothes at work... but no shoes or hand wraps. Therefore, I boxed barefoot and bought new wraps. I will from now on always keep full boxing attire at the office, just in case.  I really lazed about through a couple rounds on the bag, couple rounds of mitts, jumped rope, some arm stuff. Nothing strenuous, it was a bit quieter. 

Hollywood, one of the trainers, and I chatted for a bit. Again, he told me how glad he was that I was there and how he loves to see talent. We started talking about when we first starting boxing... he said he got it overnight. My journey was MUCH longer. I started boxing in fall 2004, nothing regular until at least that winter. It wasn't until sometime in 2005 that I even began sparring. In May 2006, I decided to fight and became more serious about training. Sometime in Spring 06 is when I think everything clicked for me. It felt like overnight but it was a long time coming. The first couple of times I sparred I remember being so badly beaten that I'd cry after so they'd stop putting me in for a few weeks. I never got upset because it hurt, though I can't begin to describe how bad it was, but rather at my inability to make my body work. I'd do a couple of rounds with Alysen and she'd just always land the punch and I was so aggressive yet completely ineffective. So much effort with no results.  Afterwards, I'd get upset then go for a run to clear my head a bit. Anyway, sometime between winter and summer, it all came together. It may have been when my trainers told me to stop beating everyone and "box" - take it easy, relax, be in control. That advice probably resonated more with me than anything else. 




No comments: