Saturday, July 26, 2008

I'm not going to teach your boyfriend how to dance

I'm getting a little concerned about this whole back/neck issue. Should I really feel paralyzed every morning? I'm not one to take drugs,  usually ok riding things out until pain subsides (not on principle, I'm just lazy). But if I can locate Tylenol in my medicine cabinet, I'm taking three. 

I had a nice long run yesterday. Up the East River from the Seaport to Delancey. Saw the Waterfalls. Really not that interesting. 

The boys training for the Mad Ave fight night were having their mandatory session with John. There are 18 guys training to be in this thing. And two girls - Julie and I. And what's awesome is that Julie and I are more experienced than any of the guys. Apparently, 80 guys tried out and they cut it down to 18 based on experience level and matching. And more girls tried out but only Julie and I were a match - go figure, I thought for sure they weren't going to have another girl at 135 who had enough experience.

Julie and I made an important decision last night; to box in those Muay Thai skirts at the Fight Night. I'm super excited about this, I'd wanted one for my last fights. I hate those bulky, ugly boxing shorts. They look stupid on girls. As the only girls in this thing, we're taking a stand! 

Kid Chocolate was training last night. Apparently, he has a professional record of 20-0 with a lot of knockouts. He made me hug his sweaty body. And also he demonstrated some killer dance moves and did a back flip. 

I think I'm going to see if I can organize a little social get together after training one night for the participants in the MAFN. The guys will get to bond since they have to train together but I hate for Julie and I to get left out of that aspect simply because we're not men. 

OK, am going to try to find the Tylenol. And figure out how to spend my morning before heading to the gym for sparring. And I need to address the important question of whether I should run again before.... I AM having pasta tonight. Oh...A Di La and Ghostland Observatory... so excited. 


No comments: