Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Countdown

This is part where things start to get hairy. It's one week to day of my fight. I've been sick (last week), away (all weekend), and busy (working this week). In short, I feel fat, flabby, and unprepared. However, I've been thinking a lot. And envisioning how this has to go. I know how I need to fight and I have the ability to do it. I know what to expect (which is usually not the case). And I'm expecting worse than it's ever been in the ring with my opponent. Make no mistake, I do not believe she's unleashed her full capabilities on me in a sparring session. But then again, neither have I.

I think my biggest advantage will be my experience level and comfort in the ring. I'm ready for the show.

Tonight and tomorrow are my last two sparring sessions. My stomach is turning.

Friday, September 5, 2008

Purple is the new Black

My first substantial boxing injury comes in a lovely deep purple color. Luckily, one that can be masked with some purple and black eye shadow. I'm heavy on the makeup this week.

I got hit with an elbow in an early sparring round on Wednesday. I felt her elbow bone hit my left eyebrow bone, but after the initial shock I didn't think too much of it. Then as I was attempting to watch the next round, I could barely keep the eye open and it was slightly throbbing. Of course, I did another round, wherein she accidently (cause we were only throwing rights in that round) threw a jab that caught me off guard. It landed squarely on the left eye. Naturally, I couldn't stop there and did an additional round of sparring during which I didn't get hit significantly, but enough that it just exacerbated the bruise.

I iced the eyebrow when I got home, while watching Project Runway, of course. But I failed to ice the entire eye, which was a mistake I believe. The brow line is still a bit swollen but it's not red/purple. However, the eyelid is precisely the color I've been craving for fall.

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

My Profile

I have to close my ears and eyes to enjoy this...

http://www.dealmakerdaily.com/boxing/pictures.html

Monday, August 25, 2008

Yay!

Martin was back today! Hurrah!!! He worked with Danielle and I on a pivot move that I'm now in love with. I'm going to pivot all day long now. 




For your viewing enjoyment:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q6XhhGNU-wc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxWwKSZXXO0

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Sparkle!

All that practicing paid off! I laided 1-2 of those slip, upper, left to the body combos. And I got another couple good rights to the body in at sparring tonight. John told me to just eliminate my left hooks altogether for the time being, they're too wide and badly timed. Whatevs, I'm a body girl. I'm just going to stick with that and jabbing. 

Julie and I are campaigning to wear skirts in this fight. She found these awesome muay thai skirts that look like the skirt that Xena the Warrior princess wears! As long as the USA boxing people, the people sponsoring the fight, and John agree to it, we get to wear them for our fight "costumes"! So John and the sponsors are ok with it - but the USA boxing officials are incredibly elusive. 

John told me to try to get in touch with Sparkle... who actually was my first fight referee. I seriously adore this woman. #1 She weighed me in and was really sweet, it was my first fight and she made me feel totally comfortable #2 After the fight (I lost) she came over to my side of the ring and said "You're one tough cookie." It's one of the nicest things anyone's ever said to me and #3 Dude, her name is Sparkle - I want to be named Sparkle! I hope she remembers me. (Wow, I also hope I don't sound stalkerish.) 


 

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Just do it

I spent about 6 rounds doing this: slip right, upper right, left to the body. 

Isaac was working with me on this in the ring, only when I do it I don't lean far enough to the left after the upper right (using the momentum to shift my weight) and then I don't sit down enough when throwing the left to the body. 

So I moved from the ring to the wall bag. Upper, left. Upper, left. Instead of sitting on the left, I'm still pushing forward straightening my right leg. Treating what should be a wide left to the body instead like a left hook. Isaac moves me to the mirror. 

I practice facing him. Slip, upper, left to the body. I'm not getting it. We work on the sitting... it's like you're sitting in a chair, not turning the foot like a hook. We practive while hovering above the bench to feel the sitting. Slip, upper right, left to the body. 

Extend the left arm on the body shot, it's wide, not a hook. Slip, upper right, left to the body. Shift to the left after throwing the upper. Slip, upper right, left to the body. 

I think I've got it. But I'm afraid I'll be thinking so much about doing this right when trying it in sparring tomorrow that I'll get hit with a hook to the head, just after the body shot. Oh, I can feel it already. 

Don't think, just do. Think, do. Just do, don't think. Don't think. Just do it. 

Wonder if the guys who came up with that slogan were boxers?

Saturday, August 16, 2008

Made a video today

Not the dirty kind that shouldn't get into the hands of strangers. Well, there is some blood at the end, though I'm not sure the handheld camcorder picked up on that. 

We taped our sparring today and it was only Hannah, Julie and I (i.e. the three more experienced of the sparring bunch). We rotated so that we each did 4 rounds, 2 rounds with each person. Given my major disadvantage (one must refrain from eating sausage before sparring), it went surprisingly well. 

First of all, I majorly held back on being the aggressive puncher and worked on my defense. As Julie put it, I do aggression well and I do defense well, I just need to get to the point where the two work in harmony. But I slipped many more punches today and landed some good ones, apparently a right went right to Julie's "babymaker"...I'd been working on that punch all week. 

Second of all, there's nothing like watching yourself spar that helps you to see that, despite obvious critiques you may have, you're actually a good fighter. I feel like I'm in slow motion when I'm sparring, but I actually had some good, fast punches in there. I get wild in about my third round, which I could see the difference when viewing the tape. Hopefully, now that I can see what that looks like it will help me to correct. 

And finally, I stopped beating myself up and stopped hating myself in the ring. I put my brain on mute and tried to keep my cool. Apparently, it's obvious to Julie when I'm losing it. She said she told me to "breathe" in the fourth round cause I was visibly started to get frustrated. I must read like a book. I wonder if I'm like that in life? 

Today was good and fun, and I left with a lovely red bruise on my eye and the side of my nose. Luckily, I'm also pretty handy with eye makeup. 



 

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Head Case

It's a good thing I didn't write when I got home from sparring last night. You would be reading my big elephant tears. This week's been pretty demanding in terms of work and I'm really staying at my allotted calorie count which means I'm probably malnourished for the amount I work out. Adding all this up... it puts some serious dampening on the emotional stability. 

Words of wisdom from John Snow (paraphrased) after my three rounds sparring:  
"Erin, there's only room for three people in that ring - you, your opponent and the ref. I can hear your brain going 'why did I miss that punch', ' i saw that one coming', 'need to move to the left', 'i should've moved my feet more', Sound familiar? You've got to block all that out and just see and react. Train your body to react to the situation so you don't have to think." 

I think at this point, I wanted to dissolve. He's so right and I don't know how to make it stop! 

I talked to him about afterwards and said "When I try not to think, my mind goes completely blank. I just feel like there's a disconnect between where I am and what I need to do". He corrected me, "Not what you NEED to do, but what your CAPABLE of doing."

Oy, isn't this what I'm reading about in my twenty something crisis book? Holy cow, I feel like a complete head case. 

So the remedy, according to John, is shadowboxing so that my reaction in sparring becomes immediate. For instance, when I touch something hot, I move my hand away. When someone hits me in the face, I don't move back but I slip to the right and under, then body shot. One of the other trainers taught me two specific combinations that I'm going to do over and over and over until Saturday sparring. 

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

I like blueberry muffins

Last night I skipped boxing in order to hang out with two girls I used to box with so that we could wax nostalgia about our days boxing. It's inescapable. 

Also, if my weight's not down yet, I've definitely lost inches. I can barely eat more than a side dish and share an appetizer at dinners. It's amazing. Though rest assured, I have not lost an affinity for dessert. So, in two weeks I'll need to reevaluate. I've been doing well with staying under 1350 most days (goal count to lose 2 lbs a week) and not going above 2000 others (in order to maintain). If by Sept 1, I haven't lost actual pounds, I'm sadly going to have to change what I'm eating (which still includes stuff like a blueberry muffin in the am or Lean Cuisine pizzas) that kept me under the calorie count. And instead, switch to full on weight loss mode which means an egg or toast for b'fast, salads with turkey for lunch (actually this is not so bad), berries or apples (acting as sweets) and loads of vegetables. 

I really hope it doesn't come to this. But I can probably continue to lose weight at the rate I'm going, it just won't be fast enough. 



  






Tuesday, August 12, 2008

What day is it?

Often people tell me that boxing much be a great outlet for getting out aggression. And it's true, I remember one morning I went to the gym after a REALLY horrible client meeting. I was so fired up, I could see the face of the client in the bag and she didn't make it past 2 rounds. 

However, nights like last night, after a particularly long, stressful day and getting started at the gym at 8:30, you just can't quiet muster the strength to get out the aggression. 

This morning I woke up and thought it was Wednesday. What a disappointment. It's going to be a really long week... 

Sunday, August 10, 2008

Mold Me

I'm ashamed to admit, I've been sparring (and fighting for that matter) for about 4 years... and never have I molded my mouthguard until this past Saturday. This slight oversight probably has something to do with how badly my jaw hurt last Wed. I'm not sure why, but I always thought it was optional. Apparently, there's a reason you drop the wax mouthpiece into boiling water and then stick it in your mouth to make a mold - it's so you don't look like a complete idiot four years later.  

Friday, August 8, 2008

Feather...Welter... some Champion

OK, I'm definitely going to clear up this tomorrow but for now... 

Tonight I was hitting the bags when John asked if I wanted to spar. Duh. Yes. "That's (muffled word)," he gestured into the ring, "the (muffled words, etc.etc.) Champion." Cool. Yeah, I want to spar him.

I gathered my helmet, contact case, and mouthpiece and all too giddily hit the bags while awaiting my turn. Just before I went in John corrected my body shot stance, gave me about 5 things that I needed to do (cutting off the ring is the only one I remember) and sent me in. He told me that this guy would be great to work with, really relaxed. 

So (muffled word) Champion and I begin the round, he's swinging pretty wide (meaning I could see all the punches) and pretty much coming right down the middle each time (I have no idea how this kept happening). It was weird cause he was going pretty slow, letting me see the punches and try to move from them. He certainly didn't make any efforts to really hit me (as I'm certain he has some killer punches in 'em). He even let me back him to the side of the ring and just unleash a flurry of erratic punches to his sides. Twice. Nice guy. :)

I was def pretty winded after. Despite the fact that he hardly had to move, I was like a jumping bean in there. After my workout, when I grabbed my towel to shower, he told me that I was really good. I was like "you're pretty good yourself!" On my way out the door, I thanked him for working with me and god bless him, he told me his name twice and I still didn't catch it! Then he said again that I was really good and that "if he (muffled name said clearly and loudly), (something) Champion, said I was good, then I'm good"

So tomorrow, I'm going to clear up this name and weight business so that I can correct this post and give Mr. Champion the credit he deserves for building up my suffering ego. 

Ref 1: This is for you, Em, "cutting off the ring" is when two fighters are facing one another in the ring. Let's pretend guy A keeps moving around in a circle around guy B. What guy B has to do is "cut off the ring", essentially step in the line of movement so that guy A can't complete the circle. (You do this by moving sideways not back or forwards.) Then guy B is positioned to punch. Make sense?    

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

There's no crying in baseball

Today was monumental. I had my first breakdown at the new gym. 

There are a couple variations on a breakdown that I can produce during a sparring session. 

1. The "F.U.C.K why isn't this working?" breakdown - Usually brought on by feeling that I'm not getting it right - the trainer's telling me to correct something and I'm not doing it. Or I get that one thing right and then screw up something else. It's capped off with a massive punch that I should have avoided. And what typically happens is that tears well up in my eyes and I try to play it off, just a bit, and then am able to work through it ok. 

2. The "OMFG I'm completely worthless" breakdown - Definitely more serious. This one's all about what's going on outside the gym. I'm either not getting enough sleep, having a tough time at work, whatever. It culminates into a sparring session where (see #1) the massive punch occurs. Actually, usually it's a series of those that start to break me. But the after effect is uncontrollable tears. Uncontrollable, I tell you. Like I've gone on a run through the streets of NY crying after to try to get it all out. Or I stay in the gym and just continue to cry through the entire workout. 

Neither of these are particularly pleasant, as they both evoke feelings of insecurity. However, it also feels good to be human and get it out. Today was a #1 breakdown.

It's important to note that the sparring breakdown is never about being hurt. I mean, I can't close my jaw properly right now, but that's not the issue. The issue is that I couldn't do what I needed to do. Kills me. Absolutely kills me. Worse than any physical pain.

Julie and I were talking after, and she mentioned that one of the things about boxing is that it attracts perfectionists. Exactly, it does. There's the obsession with control over the movements and fight. The desire to get it completely right every time. The total frustration at the first sign of failure. It's a hot mess.   


Monday, August 4, 2008

Wishing and Hoping and Thinking

Wow, so I realized I haven't written anything in a while. Guess it's because there wasn't a lot new to write. Sparring on Sat went pretty well - I did 4 rounds with Julie. I got some great advice from one of the trainers Jonathan and my friend, Stephanie (who's now sparring with us on Sats). Steph told me that I should let Julie be the aggressor more often. And Jonathan told me I should vary it up more... that's she's thinking a lot and I should keep her guessing a little more - more fake punches, etc. 

So in the 3rd and 4th rounds, I tried to follow their advice. I realized that I'm pushing the rounds a lot more than she is, probably because I'm thinking "got to score points" and if she's just hanging out waiting for me to punch, she's able to set things up better to punch and score. When I tried slowing things down and waiting for her, my accuracy was much better. I got in on some jabs and body shots that I don't normally land. 

It's possible that she was off a bit, but overall I felt good about there being a difference between my work in the ring last Sat, as opposed to this past Sat. Improvement is good. 

And I haven't drank a drop since last Tues night. I kinda like this not drinking gig. 

can't decide

if this is embarrassing or not?

http://gallery.me.com/trinityboxing#100143

I mean, the pinata part isn't cool and the part where you see entirely too close-up of a shot of my mouthpiece face. 

Thursday, July 31, 2008

3 Day Slump

I've decided the third day going to the gym in a week is the worst. Especially on a night like tonight, where the gym was less crowded. No one's there, the energy is low, I'm exhausted and my back is killing me. I push through however many rounds on the bags and mitts in what feels like 100 degree heat. Day 3 sucks BIG TIME. I quit you, day three. 

Defense School

Last night, I arrived at the gym fully "done up" (as we say back home). Make-up, Hair straightened (though on it's last leg due to the humidity), cute outfit... check, check, check. Ready for my close-up. Unfortunately, the photographer/videographer/interviewer, Lauren, asked that I change into my gym clothes. I was really hoping for more of a "spread in a fashion magazine" boxing interview than an actual boxing profile. I took about 5 minutes of cheesy photos by the heavy bag, speed bag, hands up... blech. And with make-up on, how believable is that? 

Moving on... I sparred something like 3.5 rounds (because during my first round I was outfitted in non-sparring gloves and had to stop halfway through to change gloves: I honestly don't know the difference). By the last round,  started to get into the groove. Jonathan gave me great advice: to move in at an angle from the sides. I tried it in the last round and I definitely felt an improvement and I imagine the difference was pretty visible considering I'm using going directly towards my opponent, in the center, making it easier to hit me with jabs (especially since I don't slip the punch). Kino told me I was throwing better combinations but I've got to work on my defense. John told me I need to not be wild with my punches when my opponent is unorthodox or all over the place. I'm wondering if I should do a round on Saturday where I ONLY slip and move from punches? I felt a little lighter on my feet last night. I was moving around a lot. Maybe it's because I'm lighter in general - that's right, lost about 3 pounds so far... and before I stopped drinking, so the next month I should be able to lose it all (August 1 I begin my two month sobriety pledge). 

After I sparred, worked on the bags, did mitts, Lauren did an audio interview. It'll be interesting to see what she edits down to. She got 11 minutes of footage of me and complimented my audio voice. My guess is that I sound very Southern. 

We'll see how I feel tonight, either today or Friday I need to get a long run in. Maybe I can squeeze one more day of boxing training on the bags and mitts before my neck and shoulders are too out of wack. Then I can have my run on Friday night to give myself a break before sparring Sat. Sounds like a plan... 





Tuesday, July 29, 2008

DJ Me

I was told that they'd give my ipod mix a shot and that they reserved the right at any time to decide my music unworthy and change tunes. Nervously, I hit the bags, did some ab work, looking around all the while to see how my fellow gym-goers were responding to my mix. 2 points when Kid Chocolate asked Kino why he turned off the Thong Song. Another 2 points when John recognized Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam. I decided that I won when I came back from showering and my ipod was still playing. The "Butch" mix I made for Wednesday sparring night is so good. 


Like a Monet Painting

That's what the world looks like without my contact lenses. So. Where can I get some contacts that won't be knocked out of my eyes when I spar/fight? Right now, I basically just train half blind on the sparring days. 

Monday, July 28, 2008

Fancy Footwork (chromeo)

I get to pick the song that will be playing when I enter the ring and am announced at the fight. I think this is it. 



Saturday, July 26, 2008

waiting for my car service to pick up

so i have about 30 min to get ready for tonights activities after sparring today but wanted to go ahead and write since it's fresh on my mind. 

sparring was awesome today. both john and martin were active in watching and critiquing our work. i sparred two rounds with hannah and two with julie. the work with hannah was good. but if julie and i were to have our fight tomorrow, i'd get creamed. martin took me aside after and gave me the following instructions:

1. i have to stop jabbing my way in (since i'm hitting taller girls and it's nearly impossible given my short reach). So instead he showed me some ways to move inward using my legs. 

2. he said i have to switch things up more. throw some fake jabs. find ways to throw my opponent off. he said i'm doing the same stuff over and over and it's predictable. 

3.  he said i have a lot of power but need to work more on the inside (ahem - as i told him, for the record, i started being ONLY an inside fighter and my last trainer made me jab in so now that's why i jab so much therefore i have to re-learn what i originally, naturally did). He told me to look on youtube for old Henry Armstrong, Mike Tyson, and Joe Frazier. Like those guys I need to keep a low center of gravity. 

4. He said I need to think of the ring like a chess match. Always thinking about where I'm moving and how I can move to get an optimal shot in. 

That Martin. He's good stuff. 

Pasta et vino... yuuummm....


I'm not going to teach your boyfriend how to dance

I'm getting a little concerned about this whole back/neck issue. Should I really feel paralyzed every morning? I'm not one to take drugs,  usually ok riding things out until pain subsides (not on principle, I'm just lazy). But if I can locate Tylenol in my medicine cabinet, I'm taking three. 

I had a nice long run yesterday. Up the East River from the Seaport to Delancey. Saw the Waterfalls. Really not that interesting. 

The boys training for the Mad Ave fight night were having their mandatory session with John. There are 18 guys training to be in this thing. And two girls - Julie and I. And what's awesome is that Julie and I are more experienced than any of the guys. Apparently, 80 guys tried out and they cut it down to 18 based on experience level and matching. And more girls tried out but only Julie and I were a match - go figure, I thought for sure they weren't going to have another girl at 135 who had enough experience.

Julie and I made an important decision last night; to box in those Muay Thai skirts at the Fight Night. I'm super excited about this, I'd wanted one for my last fights. I hate those bulky, ugly boxing shorts. They look stupid on girls. As the only girls in this thing, we're taking a stand! 

Kid Chocolate was training last night. Apparently, he has a professional record of 20-0 with a lot of knockouts. He made me hug his sweaty body. And also he demonstrated some killer dance moves and did a back flip. 

I think I'm going to see if I can organize a little social get together after training one night for the participants in the MAFN. The guys will get to bond since they have to train together but I hate for Julie and I to get left out of that aspect simply because we're not men. 

OK, am going to try to find the Tylenol. And figure out how to spend my morning before heading to the gym for sparring. And I need to address the important question of whether I should run again before.... I AM having pasta tonight. Oh...A Di La and Ghostland Observatory... so excited. 


Friday, July 25, 2008

Vodka Buffet Strike Two

Waaaaay back at the beginning of my boxing training, I went to the gym completely hungover. Or maybe still intoxicated. It was around 1 or so in the afternoon on a Saturday. 

All I remember about that experience was that 1. Reggie, the trainer I was working with that day was laughing at me and 2. Every time I punched a bag, there was the slow build of an echo in my head as my arm floated through the air, then a resounding thud in inner depths of my brain as the punch landed. Followed by a little spinning motion and a slightly nauseous feeling. 

I'm afraid that this will happen again tonight at the gym. 

Damn you, vodka buffet! 

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Sucky

Thats how I felt about sparring tonight. John said it was better. I dunno. I'm prob partly just exhausted from two days straight training. I think I'll take tomorrow off. 

So walking to the station from the gym, some random dude asked for my number! First, he asked if he could walk with me... Fine  (I know, it's stupid, I was trying to give him the benefit of the doubt). Then he asked for my number (For the moment I did a great impression of a girl in a v. serious long term relationship). He took the train with me and was heading to Crown Heights so at Jay St. I got off to transfer to the F... and after I got off the train, he did also. And was also standing at the platform for the F train just a little farther up from me. We caught eyes and he said something about why he was there. Then he pretty much hid behind a column. I got pretty nervous about it. I don't know if he ended up on my train or not. My fabulous brother got my emergency text and met me at the subway entrance, just in case. It was really weird and a little scary. But obviously fine. Weirdness.  

You're so vain

Some girls look beautiful working out. They have perfect ponytails and their cheeks are a healthy flush. This is not the case for me.

My hair becomes more pouffy and when pulled back into a small ponytail look like waves of wet hair cemented to my head. If I try the "half up" look, I have soaked, sweaty hair hanging all in my face. Unfortunately, at it's current length, I can't even do the casual big ball of hair on the top of my head 'do. If I've just finished sparring and take my helmet off, it's even worse - I can't even describe. Additionally, my entire face becomes bright, tomato red and, at least in the summer anyways, I'm dripping sweat. Doesn't that sound like something to commemorate? 

Next Wed, they are sending someone to the gym to videotape me sparring, take close up profile pics, photographs of me hitting a bag, and there will be a audio interview. 

Why, WHY?!




Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Running up that hill

Today, I started running again. Ta-da! 45 min up the WSH and down through the Village/Soho. I'm glad the heat broke a bit. I just did a couple of rounds shadowboxing, bags, mitts after then some ab stuff. Kept it relatively light. I'm tired from this week already and tomorrow is sparring. Am thinking I may need to take Thurs off.... 

I smell phenomenally gross right now. 

Monday, July 21, 2008

I'll take you down, I'll take you down

I may not make it to Friday. My plan is to work out every day this week and completely follow my 1350 calorie limit. And there's no logical reason that I shouldn't be able to do this - but we shall see. I always wonder when I get to the point where "I have to stop", if it's really at that point or if I'm just lazy. I suppose I could test this by pushing myself until I throw up or fall over or something. Could be fun.

Some interesting things happened tonight during my training:
1. My ass was kicked during two rounds of mitts in the ring. Yes, it seems that in focusing on boxing and skipping my runs, my stamina has gone down (though I'd like to pretend it's just the suffocating summer heat). 
2. I jabbed so hard I broke the skin (just a little) on my left knuckle.
3. The cleaning guy told me that I'm losing weight (I think he just knows the right thing to say to the girls). 
4. One of the trainers told me he wants me to train for the Gloves again (only if he gets to be in my corner)
5. John told me not to listen to the other trainers who want me to throw big right overhands or hooks, and just focus on jabs and rights. (whatever you say, John). 

I'm going to sleep now. 


Saturday, July 19, 2008

The post without a title

As I write this, I'm just back from this morning's workout. Two hours in the heat, though we did about 2 rounds rope, 2 rounds shadow boxing, 4 rounds sparring, 4 rounds heavy bag, and 1 burn round with the mitts = 2 hours... but roughly I was active 1-1.5 hours of the time. However, it was so warm, it completely zapped my energy. 

Sparring went well today, I'm doing better with relaxing my arms and jabbing, and the new way I've learned to jab to the body. So I'm getting in... and not doing anything. Next week, I need to have them help me start to push out more body punches. 

I'm going to publish this post, but I should write more later. I'm just too exhausted to think now. I am happy to report that I got a new ipod this am. I need to get back to running, I can see a drop in my stamina... 


Friday, July 18, 2008

Martin said I had nice form

Last night I had a really great session at the gym. After a couple rounds jumping rope to warm up, I went over to the shadow boxing area and starting working on the stuff I'd talked to John about: leaning to the right in my stance, keeping my shoulders and arms relaxed, moving my head more (slipping the punch, etc.). 

So THE Martin came over to me and started working with me on my body jab - he taught me this whole combination of how I could do jab to the body, then pivot around hook to the head, hook the body, hook to the head, then weave under left and another hook to the body. Confused? So was I. It took many a try to just remember the combination. And many more tries to get all the stuff I was supposed to know to do with each punch. Then he had me and another girl that I spar with work on uppercut left, followed by a hook. The other girl was curving her uppercut too far to the right so he spent some time with us teaching up tips for how to set it up. It's really interesting to see/hear how trainers break stuff down. For instance, he had us simply do a squat to illustrate the feeling that we should get in our legs just before throwing the punch. Of course, I then mistakenly thought he wanted me to do an actual squat at the beginning of the punch....that's when he said: "I don't want to confuse you too much, because you already have good form." Yippeee... seriously? 

I spent a really long time at the gym last night. It was super hot, as always. Martin used me to demonstrate the body jab to a hot shot finance guy. And overall, he was complimentary. That's not to say there's not still so much work to do. But I really feel like I'm un-doing some bad habits I'd gotten into - or rather I'm just letting them mold me into the kind of boxer that they want me to be. Which is half the game, I think. 

In the movie, Million Dollar Baby, there's a part at the beginning where the narrator talks about the boxer allowing themselves to be stripped down to the bare minimum so that the trainer can build them up again. I've always agreed with this. I can't see what I'm doing and what "feels" right isn't always right and what "feels" wrong is sometimes perfect. So I try to just give myself over to the trainer completely and remember what he tells me to feel and do. About 95% of the time I have an opinion of how to execute a punch or movement on my own, it's wrong. Even when that opinion was formed from the advice of another boxer/trainer. Each trainer has his own way of doing things and you just have to not question and go with it. 

So tomorrow is another sparring session. Should be good, hopefully I can put into practice some of the stuff I've learned this week. And a friend from my old gym may join us, which will be so fun! 



Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Thoughts on the way to the bodega

1. Apparently, when I box I bite my lower lip, as a sign of commitment and frustration, I'm sure. So now I have a small hole growing in my lower lip. And I can't stop biting it, making it worse. I'm going to have to purchase darker lipstick if I keep this up.

2. I forgot to mention that Martin Snow came into the gym last night. He's the guy who started the gym I'm at now. More importantly, he was featured training the models on America's Next Top Model (in Cycle 1, I believe). As Martin walked past me, he told me to punch with my jabs to get in and get out. I think I was more impressed seeing Martin than I was seeing Ben from Felicity the other night. 

3. My ipod is sad and refuses to play. Monday was the day that the music died.  My Genius Bar appt is tomorrow...

and 4. At the deli I purchased Coca Cola Cherry Zero which is most delicious and not on my diet plan. My last trainer told me that even though diet drinks have no calories they can add weight... water weight? I dunno.... my response was that if I have to give up everything else, then at least I get to drink diet soda. 

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Yo Erin... am I sexy?

Well... the answer is yes, but must you ask while I'm punching the speedbag? It's true, pretty much all the trainers at the gym are hot... and they dance well... and I am definitely not above attempting to flirt, though I find it a little difficult when I'm also trying to hit them.

Today was a good 1.5 hours at the gym. I did about ten rounds on the heavy bag.... still working on this whole form situation. And in the ring, I did mitts with the younger trainer John, who had to remind me to breathe. That's another slight problem I have... I don't breathe when I'm punching. But overall, today was good, solid work. Tomorrow, I'm getting up at 6:15 to go to a Physique class to stretch myself out again.

Ha

http://sports.yahoo.com/box/blog/box_experts/post/Canseco-knocked-for-a-loop-in-boxing-debut?urn=box,93737

Monday, July 14, 2008

Multiple Trainers

I'm both frustrated and amused by working with multiple trainers. I believe that all the guys I've worked with are good and know what they're talking about... but they all tell me to do different things! For instance, I've spent the last 7 months taking boxing classes at Crunch where the teacher taught me to hook by turning my palm towards me... I mastered that punch. And now, of course, John wants me to to turn my palm down when throwing a hook. Maybe having to be flexible enough to change things like that quickly is good for me... it's all rather curious. 

This morning I did an easy hour long workout... shadowboxing, heavy bag and mitts, working on the new form and relaxing my arms. I think things were a little better. I'm definitely digging this new stance (tilted more to the right) and I've got the hand placement for the most part and I'm now slipping the appropriate way. Of course, it all will go out the window in sparring. I can't make the sparring session on Wed, which may be good actually. I'll be able to focus on perfecting my form and more relaxed punching all week then put it into practice at Sat sparring. 

I really like working with John so far. He scares me a little bit. He's somewhat intense and if he tells me to do something different, I want to get it right immediately. The trainer/boxer relationship is really interesting in that way - I feel responsible for making my trainer happy and not disappointing him. Therefore, I put more pressure on myself so that don't let him down. It's a thin line (for me at least) to know when I'm boxing for myself and when I'm boxing to please my trainer. Hmm... I'll write about that some other time. 

Sunday, July 13, 2008

fightTunes

While waiting for my second fight to occur, I was listening to this backstage:

Always Too Late  - Annie
Golden Prize - Apes and Androids
What's a Girl to do? - Bats for Lashes
That's Not My Name - The Ting Tings
For Real - Okkervil River
Evil - Interpol
Lover I Don't Have to Love - Bright Eyes
Kissing Families - Silversun Pickups
Can't Lose - We Are Scientists
Available - The National 
Her Hairagami Set - The Brunettes
Music is my Hot Hot Sex - CSS
I Call it Art - The Kills
In These Shoes - Kirsty McColl
Heartbeats - The Knife
Running up that Hill - Chromatics
Your Woman - White Town

The incredible shrinking stomach

Today I went to brunch with my friend Paul (wait, it was LUNCH - Pauly doesn't do brunch, I was informed)... and I could only eat half my sandwich. This is a wonderful achievement. My stomach is shrinking (ok, fine, I had to considerably decrease my intake last week to get to that point but hey... small sacrifice to get things started). I suppose I should start weighing myself again each week. I really don't want to. 

My shoulders and neck still hurt sooo bad. Oh! I found a small bruise on my arm and the inside of my lip was a little cut from when a glove must have hit my mouthguard! Yay, first return to boxing wounds. These are exciting times, kids. 

I did take a Physique class today which is a nice cross train for me since it's about 33% stretching. And the class is core focused, which I haven't been spending time on lately. 

On the drinking report, I can report that I failed MISERABLY last night. Early on I did manage the wine/water rotation. It was to hell in a hand basket once we got to the dancing place with the vodka and mixers buffet. Sigh. C'est la vie. 

Back to the gym tomorrow. I'm going to go in the AM... maybe I'll get one of my favorite Soho to West Side Highway runs in before training. If the weather's anything like today, it will be a fantastic way to start the week. 








Saturday, July 12, 2008

A Lot of Potential

I know it's a compliment, but I sort of hate being told that I have potential. It just means that I'm not living up to my total ability. 

Today was my second sparring session at the new gym. I spent a total of 2 hours at the gym today. The time flew by actually. It was nice. I had four good rounds. I moved my head more (aha!). Hollywood seemed pleased. There was an audience of big tough guys who were complimentary - I was "doing my thing in there" according to one chap. My goal is that I always be "better" in sparring that the time before. If I can do just one thing better than before, then I've made a tiny step towards... being better. 

John, (aka head trainer dude) worked with me for a while on my stance. Apparently, I do the "olympic" stance which he doesn't think provides enough balance. And also, I face my gloves out when I'm sparring so I'm not able to protect myself as much OR throw strong punches. Because my gloves face out, my opponent can see my shoulders move the punches. AND, even my jab is supposed to come from my right foot! My shoulders aren't relaxed enough. My right back foot doesn't turn enough. I'm not bent over to my right enough. We were able to "fix" me so that my form was correct, but the hard part is remembering what "correct" feels like and then doing it. 

Oh yeah, I also throw wild punches and don't keep my body tight enough. 

Holy macarole, I have a lot to remember for next time! I'm going to work on being in the proper stance and just throwing good jabs and rights (correct form, shoulders relaxed, not giving anything away)... and see where that gets me. Better will do just fine. 

NOW, I'm going to get the sweat cake off my body, put on a dress, make-up and go out dancing. 




Friday, July 11, 2008

The Exorcist

You know how in that movie, her head spins fully around 360 degrees? Well, that is what I wish my head could do. My neck is so sore, this is the only conceivable form of relief. 

Note to self: Schedule demon possession and deep tissue massage (if time). 

Thursday, July 10, 2008

Shoeless

So... went to the gym again today. I know... I'm obsessive. But I had one of those days where you get so riled up that by the end of it you're aren't mad but just frustrated and overwelmed. Just needed a stress release - preferably one that would help undo all the brownie eating I did today. 

I had an extra set of gym clothes at work... but no shoes or hand wraps. Therefore, I boxed barefoot and bought new wraps. I will from now on always keep full boxing attire at the office, just in case.  I really lazed about through a couple rounds on the bag, couple rounds of mitts, jumped rope, some arm stuff. Nothing strenuous, it was a bit quieter. 

Hollywood, one of the trainers, and I chatted for a bit. Again, he told me how glad he was that I was there and how he loves to see talent. We started talking about when we first starting boxing... he said he got it overnight. My journey was MUCH longer. I started boxing in fall 2004, nothing regular until at least that winter. It wasn't until sometime in 2005 that I even began sparring. In May 2006, I decided to fight and became more serious about training. Sometime in Spring 06 is when I think everything clicked for me. It felt like overnight but it was a long time coming. The first couple of times I sparred I remember being so badly beaten that I'd cry after so they'd stop putting me in for a few weeks. I never got upset because it hurt, though I can't begin to describe how bad it was, but rather at my inability to make my body work. I'd do a couple of rounds with Alysen and she'd just always land the punch and I was so aggressive yet completely ineffective. So much effort with no results.  Afterwards, I'd get upset then go for a run to clear my head a bit. Anyway, sometime between winter and summer, it all came together. It may have been when my trainers told me to stop beating everyone and "box" - take it easy, relax, be in control. That advice probably resonated more with me than anything else. 




Psycho Killer

Q'est que ce

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

She's scrappy

My first night sparring in quite some time. I felt pretty good about not making a complete ass of myself. The first couple of rounds were two girls who are pretty new. Then Hannah and Julie went in... obviously more experienced, but I thought I'd do ok against either of them. 

They put me in with Danielle first. Her punches were kinda wild but she was scrappy and aggressive. Which does nothing but make me more aggressive and I start to throw some wild punches myself. I did ok but not well enough for someone with three fights under her belt. It was so hot in there. 

Then I sparred Hannah. She's really good - great form and tight, tight punches. Like the kind of one/two where you completely miss the one and just get hit square in the face with the two. It was a little intimidating being the new girl. I'm used to always having a voice in my corner yelling at me what to do. And I've found that I take direction pretty well, so it's always helped me be a little more pulled together. I don't think I looked that great in the Hannah rounds, I felt pretty bad about it. Chalked it up to "I haven't sparred in a gajillion years and this chick is good"

Last I sparred Julie, who is my likely opponent in Oct. We only did one round. I swear it was like my legs were burning from the toes up. So hot. And by the end of the longest three minutes ever, I could barely punch but I kept at it. Luckily, she's working on throwing more body punches which means she was crouched down right where I could land a few hooks. But it was still a pretty lacking performance. 

The trainers afterwards were complimentary still. As one of the guys put it, it's obvious that I know what I'm doing and by getting back into training my mind and body will be able to connect so I can actually land the combinations I start. My "things to work on" are timing (pacing and strategy), keeping my chin down (I have somehow never learned that lesson), and moving after the punch (also something I've been told forever and somehow still don't do). Working with these girls is good for me. New blood, as they say. We're sparring again Saturday. 

My body, particularly my lower back, aches. I've come home the last two nights with sweat caked to my body. How hot is that? I'm taking tomorrow off from training, I think....


Diet Right

My dieting tool always is to write down what I eat. So even though sometimes I'll still go a week (or two) at a 2000+/day calorie count which is far more calories than I need - I know why my clothes suddenly stop fitting as well.  

While in training, I'm using TheDailyPlate.com which is a online calorie counter but also tracks the percentage calories, fat, protein, etc. that you're getting each day. This way, especially while training, I can see that I'm choosing the right things to eat and getting enough carbs and protein to burn off during my workouts. Also, I've noticed that as my stomach shrinks (which inevitably it does when you go from consuming 1600-2000 calories to around 1200-1300) I'll be able to make switches like using half my days calories eating one thing (a muffin or something)  - which is not good and needs to be managed. 

I'll be fighting at 135 in the fall - which is 7lbs more than I was when competing in 06/07. I need to lose about 10lbs (something like that, I've been afraid to look!) and my goal is to take it off as quickly as possible in July/August and maintain in Sept. Should be relatively easy. Working out more will help, as will keeping the calorie count low. But the real challenge is not drinking... I'm going to make a concerted effort to switch off drinks with either water or club soda. From this blog to God's ears... 


Tuesday, July 8, 2008

First Impressions

"Have you boxed before, girl you are fierce!"

Ah, that's exactly what I like to hear my first day at a new gym. Followed by an invitation to spar, no less. My first take on the new gym is that 1. everyone is really friendly - the trainers approached me right away to wrap hands, tell me where to go next, etc. and 2. there's a definitive set routine for everyone (as opposed to my old boxing gym where it was a free for all to a certain extent). I did a quick 10min run, jumped rope for 2 rounds, shadow boxed for 4 rounds, heavy bags for 2, mitts with a trainer for 2, 3-4 rounds on the double end bag, and then "exercises" (basically coordination, strengthening rounds using a heavy bag, heavy balls, running a bit, etc. - kinda comprehensive). Anyways... this all took about 2 hours. But time passes quickly when it's fun. Plus, being the new girl (with previous training) means you know the lingo and boxing related conversation comes quite easy (everyone knows everyone in the amateur boxing world). The trainers approached me to ask about my experience. I made a new friend (who may also be my opponent in the Oct bout). 

Overall, very good start. Tonight, we spar. 

 

Boxer's Lament

This sums up what I've been feeling since I stopped boxing: 

I miss boxing. I miss the people at my old gym. I miss coming to the office in the morning feeling like I've accomplished something already. I miss spending a round working on the form of one punch (and it only taking like weeks to put in into action). I miss the sound of my glove hitting a mitt when I land the punch correctly. I miss how I mad I feel when I get hit unexpectedly. I miss hearing my trainers voice giving me instruction as I'm moving around the ring. I miss spending hours with the girls analyzing every move. I miss taking huge gulps of air at the end of a round sparring. I miss saying no to water because I'm so tough I don't need it. I miss it all getting easier after a while. I miss being inspired by fight mixes on my ipod. I miss daydreaming about sparring. I miss people being wowed by the fact that I box (shameful - but mostly because I feel like I'm defying stereotypes). I miss going into the locker room looking like shit and emerging in a dress, wearing make-up and suddenly the boys at the gym realize I'm actually a girl. I miss gagging on my mouthpiece. I miss how I start each round with a sense of purpose. I miss how toned my body was and how I could wear whatever I wanted! I miss how much energy I had. I miss being called a "tough cookie." 

I wonder how I'll feel 1-2 months from now... 


Background

I could probably do about ten million posts on boxing. How I started. Why I started. Why I stopped. What it's like to fight. Why I love it. I'm sure I'll get into all that at some point. But today, I'm just super excited. Training is the most exhilarating experience. 

On one hand, it's totally grueling: I spent almost 5 mornings (like 6:30/7am mornings) at the gym (back in summer 2006 training for my first fight). Usually I did 30-40 min. runs before training. I sparred a couple times a week, often going to work with various parts of my face sore from being hit. I lost about 20 pounds to make weight - which means that I ate around 1200 calories per day and stopped drinking. To be fair, I was studying for the GMAT at the time, so it was easy to hole up every evening and study all weekend, to keep myself from being tempted to eat out or go out. 

The upside? There was one, yes. I think the best part of training was having the ability to control my life in order to achieve something. I had a goal and I had to figure out how to get it done. It was like ultimate problem solving - which I was doing everywhere, in the ring, in the kitchen, in my head. This sounds slightly, ok very, crazy. But I was shocked with how adaptable I was to the training lifestyle and how losing the pound, landing the punch, got easier as I stuck with it.

Now I will say this: after my first fight (Oct 2006), training for my second wasn't nearly as strenuous. Maybe because I'd done it before, I didn't worry so much about eating and getting to the gym, it was more natural. At that point, I knew how I could lose 5 pounds the week before the fight so if I wanted to party it up two weeks before, I didn't feel guilty about it. Also, my body was conditioned to getting up early so training wasn't really affected by a late night. 

After my second fight, I was just plain lazy. I thought I could just ride on the strides I'd made and a good fight would just... happen. It certainly happened all right - I didn't make weight, had to jump rope for 30m, chew gum and spit, to lose 2 pounds.  My fight was called first and within 1:57 into the 1st round the fight was ended, mainly because my legs kept giving out from the jump roping. It was like being a colt trying to stand for the first time (when two giant yellow gloves are coming towards your face like a steam engine). I think part of the reason I wanted to stop fighting after was a mixture of discouragement and just feeling so tired of it all. 

My plan was to quit for a while, start up again (Fall 07) and prep for the Golden Gloves in Feb 2008. However, at the US Open that fall, watching the tennis balls go back and forth and spending one too many minutes deciding if I should have another beer, which would put me over the calorie count for that day... I ended up quitting my boxing gym in Sept 07, joining Crunch in Dec... and now I only use Crunch to taking boxing classes or to store my stuff when I want to run outside. Boxing's an addiction, I tell you. 

So, anyway... I'm excited today because I feel like training will get me back to a really good place. 

Super excited! 


Return from Retirement

"Congratulations on making the cut for the Madison Avenue Boxing Championship! You can head down to the gym to begin whenever you would like. You will most likely set up a schedule with your trainer going forward but for now just go on in and start training."

Gulp. So after an, oh 12 month plus, hiatus since my last amateur boxing bout, I'm signed up to fight again. It's like a disease, I tell you. Once infected, it's so hard to stop wanting to box. Especially if you've been relatively successful and are told, often enough, how much potential you have. 

Today is July 8 and my fight will be on October 2. As of today, I'm back in training.